Wild about Buxton.

Last Sunday I was out with my local Rambling Club when we visited Buxton. I decided to do the B walk. Scheduled for 9.5 miles and 1700 ft of ascent. It would stretch me but I felt up for it.

Starting from the Pavilion Gardens we had a bit of road walking and then followed a lane to lead us up onto Wild Moor.

The route was fairly clear as we headed west across the aptly named Wild Moor towards Errwood Reservoir. It was not as muddy as I expected but you still had to take care. We had to cross Wildmoorstone Brook a couple of times but fortunately there were footbridges.

After a couple of hours walking we came to Errwood Reservoir where we paused for lunch trying to find shelter from the wind. We completed a circuit of the reservoir using tracks and a minor road.

We next headed South following the Goyt Valley towards Goyt Moss before turning East to cross the moor back to Buxton.

We were back in Buxton with plenty of time for refreshments. I chose a pint of Timothy Taylor Landlords Bitter, superb. It had been a great day out.

By the time I got home I had walked almost 12 miles. I was a tired boy and needed a large glass of red wine, purely for medicinal purposes.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.