A stroll in the park.

My walk this week was through some of the suburbs of Liverpool. We started at Rice Lane Station and walked through a recreation area to reach the Trans Pennine Trail.

.

After about a mile we left the trail and turned right to enter Walton Hall Park. It was very attractive with its fishing lakes and ducks and geese.

Our next destination was Anfield Cemetery. It contains the Commonwealth War Graves where 997 Service personnel who were killed in the two World Ward were laid to rest.

We left the cemetery close to Goodison Park, home to Everton Football Cub.

We were now on the northern edge of Stanley Park which opened on 14th May 1870 to,provide attractive open spaces for the people of Liverpool. Along with the magnificent gardens there are some distinctive Red sandstone Pavilions. There are several fishing lakes plus the distinctive Isla Gladstone conservatory. We paused by one of the lakes to eat our lunch enjoying the peace and quiet.

On the opposite side of the park to Goodison we find Anfield, home to Liverpool F C. We paused there to enjoy tea and coffee in the cafe. The tradition end to out mid week walk.

A short bus journey into town and a train ride bought me back home at the end of a most enjoyable day.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A stroll in the park.

  1. Marieandjohnmoran says:

    Good to see you are still enjoying your walks. Photos are great and stories interesting. My walking days have really slowed and now need a cane or walker. Keep up the good work. I enjoy following your blog.

    Marie Moran from down under. Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.