Ingleton with CRC

The past week has seen some terrible weather. Heavy rain in the Southwest and Wales causing flooding and disruption whilst the north of the country has had snow. On Sunday I was out with my local rambling club when we visited Ingleton. The plan was for the ‘A’ party to climb Ingleborough, but would it be wise?

19

During the coach journey we had been several blustery showers and just as we arrived we were greeted with an hail storm. We had caught glimpses of Ingleborough and we could see that the summit was covered with a couple of feet of snow and ice. Decision made, the ‘A’ group would join the ‘B’ party on a low level walk.

We left the village and followed field paths towards Tow Scar Road climbing several stiles en route.

14

Once on the track the going was easier but there was lots of water.

20

21

At the end of the track we paused for lunch trying to find shelter where we could. We then headed towards North End Scar, climbing gently all the way.

23

Soon Ingleborough came into view. It looked impressive and beautiful covered in snow.

26 Ingleborough

A  few minutes later we were caught in another hail storm and Ingleborough practically disappeared from view, We had made the right decision. I know from past experience that the final assault to the summit plateau and the sharp descent can be tricky even in good conditions.

We walked along North End Scar heading for the Cheese Press Stone, one of the rock formations known as erratic’s.

27

29

37

We carefully made our way through the limestone pavement before climbing to the trig point on Tow Scar.

41

47 Tow Scar trig point

There were good views of Ingleborough and Whernside but it was too windy to hang around. We headed downhill through more rocks before crossing the River Wiss  at the footbridge.

49

52

57

The final section was an easy stroll back to the village with plenty of time for refreshments. I chose an excellent pint of Thwait’s Original bitter at the Craven Heifer.

58

Only 8 miles but quite demanding given the conditions.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club, Walks, Yorkshire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.