A Porpoise on Crosby Beach.

375 Porpoise on Crosby Beach. Crosbyman66

This morning I was enjoying my early morning walk when I spotted something lying on the beach. It was a dead Porpoise which had probably been washed up during the recent storms.

Someone had reported it and as I stood nearby a vehicle drew up with two coastguards. They took photographs and measurements as such cases have to be recorded.

373 Porpoise on Crosby Beach

I strolled along the promenade towards the coastguard station. As it was a Bank Holiday there were more people about taking advantage of the fine weather. Some were sitting on a strip of sand relaxing in their fold-up chairs or stretched out on a blanket. They seemed totally unaware that the incoming tide was creeping round behind them.

367

When they realised there was a flurry of activity as they dashed to get back onto the beach whilst trying to carry chairs, blankets, picnic baskets and their shoes and socks. There was no real danger but it just goes to prove that you always have to keep your wits about you down on the beach.

368 Incoming tide

As I walked back along the prom I noticed that the Porpoise was still there but the water was within a few yards of it. Will it be washed out by the tide?

I must go back tomorrow to investigate.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Another Place, Natural History, Photography, Sefton Coastline. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.