Red Squirrels at Formby.

Today I was back up at Formby to join a guided walk to discover some of the Fungi that can be found in the pine woods (But more of that later).

672 Red Squirrel

After the walk I had time to walk round the local Squirrel Reserve. A few years ago the Red Squirrel population was decimated by Squirrelpox. The virus is carried by the invasive Grey Squirrels and has destroyed over 90% of the reds in England and Wales since 1952. The virus is harmless to the greys, which were introduced to Britain from the US in1876. However it is deadly to the reds and causes lesions which become infected.

Happily the colony at Formby survived and is now once again beginning to thrive.

Someone had scattered some nuts and a couple of squirrels came to feed. They came fairly close but I still needed by 300mm lens. It was reasonably bright but the best I could manage was 1/125 sec at f7.1 on ISI 1600.

Here are some of my images.

688 Red Squirrel685

                              690 707

 

697

 

716 Red Squirrel

It has just been reported that the Squirrelpox virus has been detected in the colony of reds on Anglesey.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in National Trust, Natural History, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Red Squirrels at Formby.

  1. StillWalks says:

    Eiry sorry to hear about the Anglesey situation.

  2. Mr Knitter says:

    Great photos, we see a lot of reds here, usually in the garden pinching the nuts, saw lots today in the woods, always nice to see.

  3. Pingback: The pride of Formby | Pete's Favourite Things

Leave a Reply

