Maishofen to Zell am See.

We were looking for a shortish walk, about 5 km but it needed to be on the flat. We decided to catch the 680 bus to Maishofen and walk back to Zell am See.

01 Maishofen

A 15 minute bus journey took us to the pretty town of Maishofen where we had ample time to look around. It was Sunday morning and very quiet.

We needed to follow route 56. The signs, as everywhere in Austria were clear and we were soon on our way.

02 Follow the signs

Our path led over short cropped grass along the perimeter of a field backed by houses. My compass told me that we were heading in the right direction but when I saw a local tending his garden I decided to ask. I said “ Zell am See” and pointed ahead. He replied “Ja” and then proceeded to make up and down gestures with his hand. I said “Danke” and moved off. “What was that all about” said Jean. “You promised me that it would be a flat walk”. We were soon to find out. We reached a minor road with the railway line on our left. Our path went down an underpass to emerge on the other side of the track. That was what he had been trying to explain.

11 Maishofen

                                            Looking back to Maishofen

Our way now stretched ahead of us along a cycle track.

14

In the distance we could see a chapel.

It was the Schlosskapelle Prielau, the Chapel of the Holy Trinity built in 1730.

15

Behind the chapel was Schloss Prielau. The traditionally designed Prinzgau Castle was first documented in 1425. It now houses an excellent restaurant where we stopped for coffee.

Schloss Prielau

It was then jest a few hundred metres to the shore of Zeller See where we  could stroll along the Seepromenade back to Zell am See.

Zeller See

An enjoyable stroll.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Photography, Salzburger Land, Travel, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

