Plettsaukopf Rundweg

730 Plettsaukopf Rundweg

We wanted an easy day so Jean and I decided on a leisurely stroll round Plettsaukopf, a reservoir on the slopes of the Schmittenhohe.

We caught the City Xpress cable car up to Mittelstation and we then had a choice of routes. The red route 55 is graded as easy and follows broad tracks.The dotted red route 53 is still considered easy but is along rougher ground. Jean still had her walker so it was route 55 for us.

732 Keeping an eye out

We set off at a leisurely pace and once again Jean was my spotter, looking out for interesting things to photograph. We were soon at the Plettsaukopf, the biggest reservoir on the Schmitten. It was an ideal place for families with a water playground and sand pit.

741 Fun time

It was very tranquil with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains.

767763745

As we wandered round the lake Jean spotted a butterfly. I could only see its  underside and as I tried to move round my shadow fell across it. It was up and away. I chased it for several yards but it was camera shy.

758

 

760

I think it is one of the Swallowtail family but I could not get the right shot to make a positive identification.

We continued round the reservoir and enjoyed the views looking down on Zeller See.

View from Plettsauberg

The circuit only took half an hour but I was tired and needed a rest.

773 Tired

We retraced our steps back to Mittelstation spotting more butterflies and an orchid along the way.

787

780 - Copy779 - Copy782

Back at the start we made a short diversion to Gastof Mittelstation for a refreshing drink.

797 A refreshing pint

It had been a beautiful high level walk by a tranquil reservoir.

The staff operating the cable car could not have been more helpful to Jean with her walker.

Danke vielmals.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Photography, Travel, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plettsaukopf Rundweg

  1. Tracey says:

    Well done Mum

Leave a Reply

