Flowers on the Schmittenhohe.

Jean and I are just back from a holiday in Austria where we stayed at Zell am See. The Austrian people were friendly as always and we enjoyed the food and of course the wine. I was also able to spend time on my two favourite hobbies, walking and photography.

On the first day Jean and I caught the No 71 bus from Postplatz to Schmittenhohobahn and then travelled up the mountain on the Porsche  designed gondola, a very smooth ride. The summit is at 1965 metres and we could admire the views on the surrounding peaks, over thirty of which are above the 3000 m mark.

Summit view

272

Our walking plans were a bit restricted this year as Jean had injured her knee and was having to use a walker. She called it her ‘Wainwright’ named after the other famous walker. A W Wainwright, author of the Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells.

273

We set off along the High Altitude Promenade but this proved a bit too steep and difficult so we followed the broader path towards the Hochzelleralm.. Alongside the path there were lots of wild flowers and I soon had my camera out.

356 Wild flowers

Jean was acting as my spotter and we saw many different species including the Bearded Bellflower, Golden Hawksbeard and several types of Orchid

311 Bearded Bellflower381

379 Golden Hawksbeard372 Golden Hawksbeard

305301

314328 Orchid Sp

298

315

At the Hochzelleralm we were able to rest and relax with an iced coffee.

We continued for another few hundred metres but then a series of steps defeated us and we were forced to retrace out route.

350 Walking with Wainwright

Back amongst the wild flowers we found we were not the only ones enjoying them. There were lots of butterflies sipping the nectar.

307304

309

We were soon back at Elisabeth Chapel, dedicated to Empress Elisabeth of Austria. It is the start of A circular walk, Sisi’s Rundweg. More about that on my next post.

It had been an exciting couple of hours high up in the mountains. Jean attracted  lots of attention with her ‘Wainwright’. Perhaps people thought we were brave, or maybe slightly mad!

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Butterflies, Natural History, Photography, Salzburger Land, Travel, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

