A Lancashire Stroll

My walk this week began at Glasson Dock just a few miles south of Lancaster.

Lancaster has been a port for centuries but its heyday was in the 17th century with trade between the West Indies and the American colonies. Gradually the river began to silt up and Glasson Dock was opened in 1787. The Glasson Branch of the Lancaster Canal was opened in 1825 and the branch railway was opened in 1883.

From the dock we headed north along the route of the old railway which is now part of the Lancashire Coastal Way. We could look across to the River Lune and the endless mud flats and salt marsh.,

22

After a week of glorious sunshine we were back to rain. We had to wear full waterproofs, it was not a good day for photography.

After a couple of miles we turned inland to head for the hamlet of Stodday.

23

We reached the Lancaster Canal at Whinney Carr and joined the towpath heading south. Once again it was easy walking and we enjoyed watching the boats navigating the canal.

26

After a mile and a half we left the canal to cross fields back to Condor Green and then retrace out steps back to Glasson Dock.

28

The scene looked quite desolate with the overcast sky and abandoned boats.

‘A breath of Fresh Air’ is the name given to a series of walks through the countryside south of Lancaster. The longest is a 22 mile circular route. I might pencil that in my diary, but make sure I pick a fine day.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Industrial Heritage, Lancashire, Local History, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Lancashire Stroll

  1. ig says:

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I
    get several emails with the same comment. Is there
    any way you can remove me from that service? Bless you!

Leave a Reply

