Church Stoke to Bishops Castle.

Yesterday I was out with Crosby Rambling Club on a walk in the border country spanning Shropshire and Wales.

01. Climbing Todleth Hill

We started our walk from the outskirts of Church Stoke and almost immediately began the climb up Todleth Hill. This is one of the volcanic hills in the area and was very steep.

02. Todleth Hill

Our next objective was Roundton Hill which is a National Nature Reserve.

03

04. It's all uphill

So far it had been straightforward but then things began to go wrong. A mixture of padlocked gates, signposts obscured by ivy and missing waymarks led to some unplanned diversions. Perhaps no one had walked this way for some time for there was no sign on the ground of paths marked on the map.

We were never lost. Thanks to our GPS we always knew exactly where we were. It was just not always where we wanted to be.

Eventually we reached Hyssington where we stopped for lunch, sitting at tables in a recreation area. What luxury, except for the rain.

05. Flat fields

We now headed south crossing farmland where paths had been cut alongside the crops.

07 Path through the crops

The sun had finally come out and we were able to appreciate the views.

08 Border country

We climbed over Alston Hill back into England making new friends along the way.

06. Hello

We crossed over The Wintles to drop down into Bishops Castle and some well earned refreshments.

09 Roadside flowers

Time for a pint in the Six Bells.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club, Shropshire, Wales, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Church Stoke to Bishops Castle.

  1. dolewis says:

    Thanks, Alan, for another excellent set of photos and commentary. Really pleased that you were with me on this adventure, not least for having the benefit of your GPS. David

    • crosbyman66 says:

      It was an interesting walk. I was never sure when we were in England and when we were in Wales.
      If I could not understand the signposts I assumed we were in Wales.

Leave a Reply

