Puig de Tossals Verds from Cuber Reservoir.

My walk today started at Cuber Reservoir and from there I climbed to the top of Puig de Tossals Verds. The summit is at 1115 metres so it is quite a climb and part of it is pathless. But it is well worth the effort for the views.

We started our walk from the bus stop and small car park close to the Font de Noguera Area Recreativa. The area has now been tarmacked making parking much easier. We followed the GR 221 signposted ‘Font de Prat / Refugi des Tossals Verds’ and walked alongside the concrete canaleta which carries water down from Gorg Blau which we could see in the distance.

84 Gorg Blau

We crossed the canaleta via a concrete ramp and after passing through a gate we began the steady climb through the oak wood along an old charcoal burners trail. Shortly before reaching the Coll d’es Colloms we turned right to begin the climb up to Puig de Tossals Verds. The climb up through the woods was beautiful. We were in the shade and the air was full of birdsong. We had to look carefully for the cairns but we eventually emerged from the wood to pass through a gap in the wall close to a large snow pit.

A reasonably clear path heads off to the left towards some rock formations.

59 Rock formations

We passed behind one that always reminds me of a monster.

59 Monster

As we continued climbing the views improved and we could look south to the twin ‘sugar loaf ‘mountains of Alaro and Alcaldena.

61 Admiring the view

A final push took us to the summit of Tossals Verds where we could relax and admire the view. I was surprised to see about a dozen people at the summit. On previous visits we have met no-one.

66 Relaxing at the summit

70 View from the summit of Puig de Tossals Verds

74 At the summit

We then retraced our steps down to the Coll de Colloms and on to the canaleta. Despite there having been hardly any rain in the past month there was quite a lot of water flowing down.

82 Along the canaleta

We followed the canaleta all the way down to Cuber to see the water gushing out into the reservoir.

85 End of the canaleta

 

89 Cuber Reservoir

We had an hour to wait for our transport so we sat at the end of a spit of land and relaxed. We had earned it.

That night I ate at Campo Sol, sampling more local cuisine. Pate de la Casa followed by Conejo con Cebella ( Rabbit with Onions). Accompanied by a bottle of Anares Crianza.

As I strolled back to my hotel I could take in the view across the bay.

Sunset

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Food and drink, Landscape, Mallorca, Photography, Travel, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

