Cuber to Soller via the Cami Vell

Today we travelled to Cuber Reservoir from where I thought we were going to do the three peaks, Sa Rateta, Na Franquera and L’Ofre.

06 Puig Major from Cuber

Weather conditions were perfect as we gazed across at the radar installation on Puig Major.

Walking along the track we could see Sa Rateta directly ahead.

08 Sa Rateta

It was only now that they informed me that we would be doing it the hard way. First climbing up the gully and then a bit of a rock scramble. This was not for me. My power to weight ratio is less than ideal and the last thing I was is to be hanging onto a rock by my fingertips.

I decided to walk down to Soller via the Coll de L’Ofre and the baranc de Biniaraix. The climb up to the Coll de L’Ofre was easy and I could rest by the cross and take in the view.

15 At the Coll de L'Ofre

I now had to descend through the woods to the top of the Baranc. Directly ahead I could see Es Cornadors, one of my favourite mountains in Mallorca. Only an extra 200 metres of ascent to reach the summit at 957 m. Should I go for it?

18 Which way now

When I reached the path junction I decided against it. The temperature was 28 degrees and I would be in full sun. I headed down the baranc de Biniaraix but at a junction I turned left to continue down the Cami Vell. This was a rougher path but had the advantage of offering some shade.

33

A signpost suggested that the walk should take 4 hours. I had done it in 3 hours 50 minutes but I still had some way to go.

Eventually I reached Biniaraix and found that the little bar was open.I was ready for a beer. Suitably refreshed I headed for Soller where I had an ice cream at the ice cream parlour. All that remained now was the mile or so back to the port.

It had been a long hard days walking but I had been amongst some beautiful mountain scenery.

3130

I have found a nice restaurante where tonight I can relax over a good meal and a bottle of Rioja.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Photography, Travel, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

