Dusty boots in Mallorca

58 Dusty Boots

I am halfway through my holiday and today I did one of my favourite walks. Deia to Porto Soller via the GR 221.

Leaving Deia we followed the signs for the GR 221 down a cobbled track before making a short diversion down to the beach at Cala Deia. We called in for a coffee at the restaurante that is now forever associated with ‘The Night Manager’

33 Night manager

Today there were no shootings and no-one was kidnapped. We just enjoyed our coffee.

37 Signpost

Soon we were back on track and following the well known route that I have described before. There were lots of beautiful ancient olive trees. I was sure I could see a face in one of them. It was Bill practising for the Yorkshire Freestyle Gurning Competition.

29 Gurning tree

The path is clear but in places there have been some rock falls and you need to take care.

39

We were pleased to see that the chapel near Can Prohom which was almost derelict had now been restored.

44 Capelletto

I had walked along the Cami de Castello a couple of days ago so today we returned to Porto Soller by crossing the Muleta. Someone was making a few euros by selling freshly squeezed orange juice. Just what we needed.

52 Fresh Orange anyone

We followed the path down to the port, making some new friends along the way.

65 Making friends

We had been walking for five hours and it had been very hot. All the dust had made my throat dry. What I needed now was a cold glass of beer.

Another day to remember.

End of the day

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Photography, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

