Away with the fairies.

For my walk this week I went to Fairy Glen, situated on the side of Parbold Hill in Lancashire. The Glen follows Sprodley Brook which over a period of time has cut through the underlying sandstone to create the steep valley which is Fairy Glen. There are traces of some small scale quarrying and this coupled with the action of the brook has created several little waterfalls and cascades. It is a  magical place especially in the Spring when the ground is carpeted with wild flowers.

A clear footpath leads down into the Glen and alongside it there were lots of bright yellow Marsh Marigold. It was time to get down on my knees to take some photos.

27

28 Marsh Marigold

The petals contain a substance that is related to carotin pigment. It was once added to butter to give a rich yellow colour.

Moving down the valley the air was pungent with the smell of Wild Garlic.

32 Wild Garlic31

The main reason for my visit was to see the bluebells, but I thought I was perhaps a week too early. At the top of the glen the flowers were only just showing a bit of colour.

37 Bluebell

However, lower down the glen in the sunny glades the flowers were covering the banks.

46 Bank of Bluebells

50 Native Bluebell

These were true native English Bluebells.

Dotted amongst them were the pink flowers of Red Campion.

48 Pink and blue

It was a place to linger and just listen to the birdsong and the tinkling of the water.

60 Waterfall

There was also plenty of yellow Celandine. The leaves of the young Spring plants contain Vitamin C and can be used in a spring salad. However the later leaves develop a bitter taste and become poisonous.

55 Celandine

I had seen lots of wild flowers but had not spotted any fairies. I did see a large toadstool which is perhaps where they used to live.

59 Toadstool

On my way back up the glen I saw some Enchanters Nightshade.

66 Enchanters Nightshade

It will not be in flower for another month or so but it proves that Fairy Glen is an enchanting place.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Lancashire, Photography, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Away with the fairies.

  1. Malcolm Chester says:

    Thank you for posting this Alan. We went there yesterday & really enjoyed it. I had never heard of this place!!

Leave a Reply

