No 108, Barrow.

Last weekend I was out with Crosby Rambling Club when we visited Keswick. I joined the rather large B party on a pleasant walk to the summit of Barrow at 1494 ft.

It was my 108th Wainwright. I am now over half way, only another 106 to go!

We started out walk from the pretty village of Braithwaite.

49b Leaving Braithwaite

We followed the path towards High Coledale, gradually ascending on a good path.

50b Towards Barrow Door

Looking back we could see Skiddaw. The snow that covered the tops last week had all gone. Soon we were on a lovely green path and our objective was in sight. To our left was the deep gorge containing Barrow Beck.

53b Green track towards Barrow

As we approached Barrow Door we could see Causey Pike dead ahead. This is where the  A party were heading. We could also see the clouds that were moving in. A cold front was moving in from the Northwest.

58b Clouds moving in

At Barrow Door we turned left to begin the final 300 ft of ascent to the summit of Barrow.

60b Heading for the summit

66b Almost at the top

There was no real cairn at the summit but the panoramic views were worth the climb.

61b Looking down on Derwentwater

                                        Looking down on Derwent Water

73b David

We had lunch at the summit and posed for a groupenphoto.

68b Groupenphoto

The weather was closing in and it had got windy. It was time to put our fleeces on and head down.

74b It's getting cold

76b Heading down

We returned to Barrow Door and continued in the same direction down a rocky path to meet the Old Mine Road.

78b Descending Barrow

84b The descent

All the hard work was now behind us and we could stroll down the mine road with Stonycroft Gill below us to our right.

90b The old mine road

92b Along the Old Mine Road

Down in the valley we headed north alongside Newlands Beck towards Little Braithwaite and on to Ullock. We made a small diversion to Lingholm Gardens where I wandered down to the lakeside. The boathouse was in need of some TLC.

99b  Boathouse at Lingholm

Several of the group stayed at Lingholm to visit the tea shop, but I had other things on my mind. A quick return to Keswick and a pint of Jennings’ Cumberland Ale. I was thirsty.

An excellent day out on the fells. 9.6 miles and just over 2000 feet of ascent.

I climbed my first ‘Wainwright’, Cat Bells, in 1984. It has taken me 33 years to reach the half way point. If I continue at this rate I will be 106 by the time I complete all 214. I had better get a move on!

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club, Lake District, Landscape, Photography, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No 108, Barrow.

  1. Marie Moran says:

    Is that a section of the coast to coast walk. We have always talked about doing it, too old now. Hope you are able to complete it for us. Post lots of photos, I’m 71 today, don’t know how that happened. Still walking, but not as far these days.

    • crosbyman66 says:

      Hi Marie, Happy Birthday.
      You’re still young enough to do the Coast to Coast, you would just have to split it into shorter stages.
      Or think like I do. It’s not how far you walk, it’s what you see along the way.

      PS. Barrow is not on the coast to coast walk. The route passes slightly south of there.

Leave a Reply

