Crosby Rambling Club visits The Roaches.

Last Sunday I was back at The Roaches with Crosby Rambling Club. This time I took it easy and did the B walk, a steady 8 miles.

01 Heading towards Windygates

From the visitors centre at Tittesworth Reservoir we walked across field towards Windygates and The Roaches on the skyline. We climbed up through the rocks and the trees to gain the ridge where we felt the full force of the wind.

02. Looking down on Tittesworth Reservoir

We could look down on Tittesworth Reservoir where we had started our walk but we could also see the rain moving in.

After a very short lunch stop we set off along the ridge. By now the rain was coming at us horizontally. Everything was grey. The only splashes of colour was from our waterproofs.

05

The Roaches

Over the past few days we have had lots of rain and the conditions were even worse than last week.

06 Along the ridge

07 Wet underfoot

It had been my intention to take lots of pictures of the gritstone rock formations but after a couple of attempts I decided to put my camera away and keep it warm and dry.

03 Sculptured rocks

09

We descended to Roach End where there was an ice cream van. Strangely there was no queue of customers. The B walk was not taking in Lud’s Church, so we headed south across muddy fields.

10

At Meadows Farm we joined a track and the going became easier.

We were back at ‘The Lazy Trout’ by 3 pm and looking forward to a relaxing pint. However the pub was packed with people having Sunday lunch and we would have looked out of place in our muddy boots and waterproofs. Instead we went back to the coach to get changed and then on to the visitors centre for ‘A pot of tea’ and a scone.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club, Landscape, Peak District, Photography, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crosby Rambling Club visits The Roaches.

  1. Marilyn says:

    A memorable trip, Alan!

  2. Marie Moran says:

    What no brown ale or a rich red. Did you drink too much tea in Portugal? Very rainy and humid down here.

Leave a Reply

