A visit to the market.

I am just back from a trip to Madeira where I stayed in Funchal. One of the places I wanted  to visit was the Mercado dos Lavradores – The Workers Market.

775

We entered into the lower level which was the fish market. It was only 9.30 am and there was still a lot going on. Dozens of different types of fish were for sale.

P1100784

772

782

However my favourite was Espada.

773 Espada

The Espada, or Black scabbardfish has an elongated eel like body and the dorsal fin runs the whole length of the body. It has a protruding lower jaw and the mouth is full of sharp, fang like teeth. These together with the large bulging eyes make it a most ugly creature. But it tastes delicious.

It lives at a depth of several thousand metres and is a deep water predator.

780 Espada

We watched as the fishmongers prepared the fish. The first task seemed to be to knock out the teeth.

786

781

The next stage was to descale the fish.

785

Finally it was gutted and cut into fillets.

I was feeling hungry.

                                   794

Upstairs was the flower and vegetable market which was so colourful.

789790

797793

799

The ladies selling flowers were all dressed in traditional costume which added to the atmosphere.

Upstairs on the first floor there were exotic fruits, herbs and spices. But you have to be careful. Traders would offer you samples of the fruit and then try to sell you some at extortionate prices.

The market is open every day but is busiest of a Friday or Sunday when fishermen, farmers and traders from all over the island come to sell their produce.

I have now got to try some Espada. It is served with bananas ( Espada com banana )

I will tell you about it later.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Food, Madeira, Photography, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A visit to the market.

  1. Marie Moran says:

    Will you have a Spanish wine to go with the fish? Any interesting walks happening?

  2. crosbyman66 says:

    We had a bottle of Vino Verdes from the Douro region of Portugal that we visited last year.
    I will write about it soon.

  3. Andrew says:

    Yes, I got stung buying cheese plant fruit from the upper market (10 euro I seem to recall). About a 1/4 the price from the downstairs market!

  4. crosbyman66 says:

    You certainly have to be careful. The traders are very persistent.
    Thanks for visiting my blog

  5. Doreen Thomas says:

    I am going in May so hope to visit Funchal.
    Found you comments useful.

  6. crosbyman66 says:

    There is lots to do in Funchal.
    I will tell you about it on the next walk.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.