A visit to Butchart Gardens.

702 Butchart Gardens

Our journey across Canada by train via the Rockies ended in Vancouver where we has a few days to explore or just relax. Vancouver was what I call a ‘walk able city’. No need for expensive taxis. once you have figured out the grid system it was easy. Gastown , Chinatown and Stanley Park were all within walking distance of our hotel in downtown.

One of the highlights of our stay was a trip across to Vancouver Island to visit Butchart Gardens.

707

These gardens were started in 1904 by Mrs Jennie Butchart the wife of a cement manufacturer. When her husband moved to the area to quarry limestone Jennie decided to to design a new garden on their property. When the limestone ran out Mrs Butchart decided to continue her project by landscaping the quarry and transforming it into a sunken garden.

As the gardens became more popular they were filled with thousands of plants from around the world.

710

Today, the gardens are quite formal, with the Italian Garden and the Rose Garden.

707

721

We visited in the month of September and a lot of the blooms were past their best. Unless you were a ‘dahlia enthusiast’

Here are a few of my images.

725726

757756

759760

It was very peaceful despite the crowds and a ‘must place ’to visit if you are ever in  Vancouver.

774

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Canada, Photography, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

