Crosby Rambling Club visits Cartmel.

On Sunday I went to Cartmel in the Lake District with my local rambling club.

A major traffic accident on the M6 meant we were delayed for over an hour an we did not arrive there until 11.30 am. I decided to do the B walk. Only 8.7 miles but we would have to do it a t a good pace.

31 Setting off

We started off by crossing the racecourse and heading north across fields and tracks to pick up the Cumbria Way.

P1100634

Passing one farm we noticed the farm hand crossing the field on his quad bike. The sheep just knew that it was feed time and sprinted after him.

633 Sheep

We continued heading north through woodland to Bigland Heights and on to Bigland Tarn which was very peaceful.

645 Bigland Tarn

Along the way there were lots of Hawthorne bushes that had been bent by the prevailing wing. One looked as though it was growing out of a rock.

636 Hawthorne

We retraced our steps towards Grassgarth. To our right we could look across the Kent Estuary to the tower at Arnside where we had walked in November.

642 Looking across the estuary

We now headed south through a plantation to reach Hill Farm from where we retraced our outward route. Most of the trees had been felled but new saplings had been planted. We encountered lots of mud which made it a hard 8.7 miles.

650 Lots more mud

The Lake District is deservedly popular with both walkers and climbers.

Even the animals are now taking up rock climbing.

640 Rock climbing cow

649 Rock climbing sheep

We were back in Cartmel with time for some refreshment. I was tempted by the cafe which served ‘sticky toffee pudding’ with thick custard. But, I managed to resist and instead I enjoyed an excellent pint of Hawkshead Bitter sitting in front of a log fire in the Kings Arms Pub.

It had been a good day but there was far too much mud. I am still trying to get my boots clean.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club, Food and drink, Lake District, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crosby Rambling Club visits Cartmel.

  1. Beautiful skies! Not so keen on all that mud 🙂

Leave a Reply

