At Loggerheads with Crosby Rambling Club.

571 Loggerheads

A slightly misleading title. I do not suggest that I have fallen out or that I am in dispute with the Rambling Club. I mean that yesterday I visited Loggerheads in North Wales with the club.

I chose to do the ‘B’ party walk led by Ray. Only 9 miles but with several steep ascents. We started our walk from Loggerheads Country Park and were immediately into our first climb. A tough 100 or so steep steps leading up to the road. I was out of breath before we reached the top and we had not even started the walk proper.

We now headed south past the Colomendy Outdoor Centre and continued towards Maeshafn. It bought back memories as I stayed at the Maeshafn Youth Hostel way back in 1959 when I was on a cycling tour of North Wales.

We dropped down to cross the main road at Llanferes and then started to climb up onto the hillside. The weather had started to clear and we could see across to Snowdonia.

550 Brightenning up

However it did not last and a bank of cloud rolled in.

551 Getting Cloudy

After passing through a forest we joined a track which led us to the base of Foel Fenlli.

554

Foel Fenlli is the sister hill of Moel Famau and at 1677 ft is just a few feet lower, making it the second highest peak in the Clwydian Range.

556 The start of the climb

It was quite a stiff climb and everyone took it at their own pace.

558 Getting steeper

560 on Foel Fenlli

The Offa’s Dyke path contours round the western slopes of the mountain and the majority of our group took this path. Just six of us braved the steep, stepped path to the summit.

562 Looking back

By the time we reached the summit the clouds had blown away and we could appreciate the views while we got our breath back

564 At the summit of Foel Fenlli

At the summit there are the remains of a hill fort that dated back to the Iron Age but was reoccupied during the Dark Ages.King Benlli ( after whom the mountain was named ) probably lived here c. 450.

568 Looking towards Moel Famau

The descent was steep and quite slippery but we could enjoy the views looking towards Moel Famau. From the large car park at the base of the hill we followed forest tracks back towards Loggerheads with time for a welcome pint at ‘We Three Loggerheads’

The term “at loggerheads” refers to people engaged in a quarrel or dispute. It can also be used to describe a “stupid person” or “blockhead”. Local legend states that the pub acquired its name during the 1780’s when a local landowner and the vicar were constantly in dispute. The landlord of the pub called a meeting between the two of them to try and settle the dispute.

Richard Wilson painted a sign for the pub showing two people with their backs to one another. The thinking was that there were two people at the Loggerheads in disagreement plus the third person looking at the sign.

The present sign outside the pub looks very modern and is not the one that I remember from several years ago

Pub sign572 We Three Loggerheads

                                                            Ancient and modern.

Between our group there was no dispute. We all agreed that the pint of Black Sheep was delicious.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club, Denbighshire, Wales, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At Loggerheads with Crosby Rambling Club.

  1. roger tolley says:

    Enjoyable read ( and photo’s) as always Alan . Yes, the stiff climb upto Foel Fenlli sorts your fitness out , Leading the ‘ A,’ I was more than glad to rest at the top and admire the superb views as the cloud cleared for us . I reckon it is one of the best hills in Wales . After a further ascent this time upto Moel Famau I was glad to rest in the Three Loggerheads for a pint of yes Moel Famau., a delightful dark ale. In the making of this beer heather is collected from near the summit for the fermentation process . Oh, I was taken to task as 10 turned into 12 miles. , well no one asked for there money back – so to speak,

  2. I like the play on words – there’s also Loggerhead turtles of course.

Leave a Reply

