A stroll in the park–almost.

My walk this weekend was centred on Lyme Park at the edge of the Peak District. I thought it was going to be an easy stroll but it turned out to be quite tough and most of it was outside of the park.

78 Dawn

When I got up and looked out of the window the weather looked quite promising but it was not to last. By the time we started out on our walk it was overcast and grey, but at least it was dry.

We left the main car park and headed SW through woodland to exit Lyme Park at West Parkgate. After a short distance of road walking we headed up onto the moor towards Keepers Cottage. We now began our steady climb up to Dale Top and onwards to a junction of paths.

80 Onto the moor

We turned right onto the Gritstone Trail, a 35 mile long distance footpath from Disley in Cheshire to Kidsgrove in Staffordshire.

81 The Gritstone Trail

We continued to the high point on Sponds Hill (1352ft) where there was a viewpoint.

83 Sponds Hill

We retraced our steps along the Gritstone Trail. It was really chilly up on the moor. It was what is called a ‘Lazy Wind’, too lazy to go round you, it just cut straight through you. The horses didn’t seem to mind it.

82 Feeding time

At Bowstonegate Farm we turned left to follow the Gritstone Trail into Lyme Park. The waymarks were a black bootmark and a yellow G.

87 GT signpost

89 Toposcope

Leaving the moor we walked through Lantern Wood. Crossing a ladder stile we emerged onto open ground. Across the valley we could see The Cage.

91

We descended to cross Coalpit Clough and then climbed up again to The Cage. From the 14th century onwards the park was noted for its herd of red deer and hunting was a popular pastime for the nobility. In the 16th century the three story square built tower was built so that the ladies could view the proceedings.

94 The Cage

On three sides of the tower there is a sundial, each one showing different hours of the day.

95 Sundial

There was no chance to check the time as we had full cloud cover.

The final part of our walk was easy as we followed the main path down to the entrance gates of the hall and on to the car park.

97 Lyme Park Hall

It had been a tougher day than we had expected but our reward was coffee and cake in the tea shop.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Cheshire, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A stroll in the park–almost.

  1. M.Barrett says:

    Nice post. I’m looking for new places in the Peak District that I haven’t been yet, and this is now being added to my list.

  2. crosbyman66 says:

    Many thanks. Not quite as adventurous as your Three Peaks walk but enough for me

Leave a Reply

