A circuit of Stocks Reservoir.

Last week I was back in Slaidburn to do a circuit of Stocks Reservoir with Crosby Rambling Club.

236 Towards Stocks Reservoir 

Stocks Reservoir is man-made and was created in the early part of the 20th century to provide a water supply to the rapidly growing population. The remains of the existing village in the valley lie under the water.

232 Tractorfest

As we left the village a couple of dozen old tractors trundled past. There must have been a tractor fest nearby.

We passed Hammerton Hall and soon reached the reservoir.

233

We completed the circuit in a clockwise direction using good paths. After one brief shower the weather improved and we had good views over the surrounding countryside.

241

243

248

After 10 miles of easy walking we were back in Slaidburn with time for a pint of “Lancashire Bomber” in the Hark to Bounty Inn

255 Hark to Bounty

The Inn is said to date back to the 1300’s although most of the building dates from the 16th century. Up until 1875 it was known as The Dog but then, the local squire, who was also the rector called in for a pint with his mates after a days hunting. They were disturbed by the barking of the pack of hounds that they had left outside. One dog was making more noise than all the others. It was the squire’s favourite dog called Bounty.

“Hark to Bounty” said the squire.

That was how the pub came to change its name.

On the short walk back to our coach I got my image of the day.

256 Soldier

The statue of the soldier and the Union Jack flag linked by a rainbow.

There must be some symbolism there !

I must think of a title for the image. Any ideas?

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club, Lancashire, Local History, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A circuit of Stocks Reservoir.

  1. Marie Moran says:

    Where’s that pot of gold! Love the idea of a Lanchashire Bomber in the Hark to Bounty. Only in England. My mother in law was born in a place called Pitty Me. Thanks again for a great story and photos.

Leave a Reply

