Slaidburn

223 Memorial

I’ve been back home for two days and its time to get my     boots on. I’m off to Slaidburn on the edge of the Trough of  Bowland to do a reccee for the next Crosby Rambling Club ‘A’ walk. It is at least ten degrees cooler than in Portugal but the temperature is still above average for the time of year.

We left the picturesque village passing the statue to fallen soldiers from the First World War and then passed the ‘Hark to Bounty’ pub. We would be back later. We headed towards Pain Hill. but the only pain was in my thighs. We now headed towards Dunsop and the quiet Beatrix Valley along little used tracks. I was beginning to regret wearing shorts as there were patches of stinging nettles especially close to the stiles.

224

227

We made the slow ascent up Burn Fell. and were hoping for good views over the Trough of Bowland and across to the Yorkshire hills. But it was not to be and the rain clouds were moving in.

Burn Fell was the site of an air crash on 2nd January 1945. A war -weary B-24 bomber with the name “Come along boys” was returning to the Base Air depot at Warton. The weather closed in forcing the pilot to go onto instrument flying. However the aircraft struck the summit ridge of Burn Fell tearing the fuselage apart as the bomber skidded across the moor. Most of the occupants were thrown clear or managed to get out before the fuel tanks ignited. Sadly four airmen were killed. All that remains now is a rusting piece of metal and a huge scar on the ground. The site is marked with a memorial stone.

228 Memorial

229 Wreckage

We continued to the summit of the fell at 431m and paused for a rest.

230

It was now downhill all the way (almost) as we made our way back to Slaidburn with time for a pint of ‘Lancashire Bomber’ in the “ Hark to Bounty”.

10.2 miles. 1560 feet of ascent.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club, Lancashire, Local History, Photography, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

