Barden Moor and Embsay Crag.

My walk this week took me into Yorkshire and the village of Embsay near Skipton.

589 Showing the way

We left the village to walk along Pasture Road to Embsay Reservoir. Passing the sailing club we could look across the reservoir to Embsay Crag where we would end up later in the day.

590 Embsay reservoir

At an information board on Barden Moor we left the road and began out steady climb. It was tough going as we could hardly make out the path through the waist high bracken.

594

Soon we were on Crookside Crags are we could follow the wall to the trig point.

602

607 Trig point on Crookside Crag

There were excellent views in all directions and as always I was fascinated by the shape of some of the rocks. I was sure I could make out faces.

597 View from Crookrise Crag

599 I see a face

We re-crossed the wall at a ladder stile and followed it across the moor for about half a mile. We were back in the bracken and there were lots of little holes and gullies. It was real ankle turning territory. Eventually we dropped down to Gill Beck close to a beautiful waterfall. We crossed the beck just upstream of the waterfall and then had a steep climb up the far bank. You needed to be agile and nimble. Neither of these really applies to me.

610 Waterfall at Gill Beck

We continued along the faint path now through heather to reach the main Rylstone to Bolton Abbey track. Turning right we followed the track passing some shooting huts. There was a lot of activity in preparation for ‘The glorious 12th’ when the shooting season starts. The privileged few can then spend their days shooting the lovely little grouse.

612 Shooting huts

At Brown Bank we turned right to head south across Embsay Moor.

616 Crossing Embsay Moor

Once again the path was very patchy. I don’t think many people walk this way. We managed to find the faint track leading to Embsay Crag and climbed to the top. There were lovely views looking down on Embsay reservoir that we had passed at the start of our walk.

620 View from Embsay Crag

There were also more wonderful rocks.

625 Sleeping giant

The hard work was all done and it was downhill all the way back to Embsay. We passed the site of Embsay Kirk, the original site of St Mary and St Cuthbert’s Abbey, which was moved to Bolton Abbey in 1154.

It had only been 8 miles but was harder than what we had expected.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Adventures with Les, Walks, Yorkshire. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Barden Moor and Embsay Crag.

  1. Marie Moran says:

    I always look for faces and animals in the shape of rocks and clouds. Do you think we might have too much time on our hands? As always, an interesting blog, great photos.

Leave a Reply

