Back on Bleakedgate Moor

On Saturday I was back on Bleakedgate Moor. I had done this walk last month and after telling my friends how enjoyable it was a couple of them asked if I would mind leading them on the walk. No problem. It would be different.

It certainly was. Gone were the beautiful views and blue sky. Instead we had driving rain, wind and visibility down to 25 yards.

We set off from Ogden Reservoir and it looked like the ocean. You could not see the other side. The route description mentions puddle filled tracks made by scrambler bikes but this was ridiculous.

01 It's only a bit of mud

Windy Hill lived up to its name and we were getting battered. The sound of the rain on my hood almost drowned out the roar of the traffic on the M62 away to our left. We were heading for the telecommunications tower on the top of the hill but it was no-where in sight. I was following the route that I had laid down on my Satmap last month and I knew we were on course. Then it appeared out of the gloom only 25 yards away.  The top of it remained hidden in the mist.

02 Where is the path

We crossed the road and followed the Pennine Way heading south towards White Hills. Today we could not appreciate the views of the southern Pennine peaks, it was more a case of ‘head down’ and get it over with. We passed over into Yorkshire and headed for the A640

03 County line

A stone marked the County line.

We headed back towards Piethorn Reservoir and at last the rain stopped and the cloud lifted. We could see !

04 At last we can see

We covered the remaining couple of miles at a fast pace pausing just for a few minutes for a quick bite to eat.

05

We were back at the car by 1.45 pm having covered the 9.6 miles in under 4 hours.

It was a day to forget!. Not really, it had been good to get out.

On the drive back home the sun came out. Back home I got changed and decided to pop out for a pint and a chat. An hour later as I walked home it started to rain again. I was only in shirtsleeves and for the second time today I got soaked.

What has happened to our British Summer.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Gym Walks, Lancashire, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

