Sa Bassa. 819 m

Today our aim was to climb Sa Bassa, a little peak just 819 metres in height. Our starting point is the picnic site, the area recreativa close to point 42.4k on the MA-10. This is already at 500 metres so the climb is modest. Almost a rest day, but not quite.

460 Dander signs

We set off along a concrete access track and there were warning signs everywhere. Private land, no hunting, no picking the mushrooms and Perill Armes de Foc. That one had me until I found it meant ‘ Danger Firearms’. We continued on our steady climb.

461 Steady climb

I have never seen this walk described in any of the guide books and there is no path indicated on the map. I was relying on memory. At the end of the track we came to a T junction. But, there was no need to worry, someone had constructed an arrow out of stones pointing the way. It was then just a case of looking out for red paint dots or occasional cairns.

Waymarks

On our way up we were overtaken by the fire warden and his three dogs. We gave a cheery “Hola” but did not even get an acknowledgement. I suppose you do ,not need to be the talkative type to do his job.

Soon we were at the summit.

477 At the summit

The warden had well beaten us and had time to wash his clothes which he was now hanging out to dry. We found a quiet spot to rest and admire the view.

479 A little cloud

I was busy taking photos of the watchtower and the surrounding mountains.

482 Fire watch tower

490 Neil and Krystl

511 Puig Major

Paul and Greg had gone to find a route up to the tower on Sa Costera involving a rough scramble. The cloud had built up along the coast and they would now be enveloped by it.

502 Cloud moving in 

We were fine, sitting in the sunshine with the clouds below us –magic.

509 Above the clouds

The clouds continued to build up and began to fill the valley below us – time to leave, but not before I took a few more pictures.

516 Watchtower

513 Summit cairn

The way down was straightforward and we were back at the area recreativa in time for our lunch sitting at the picnic tables. A donkey came up to the gates trying to make friends and was rewarded with an apple.

Before we set off back I wandered around looking at the wild flowers. There were some tiny lilac daisy type plants and some thistles covered in big bugs.

551 Lilac daisy48 Lilac daisy

558 Thistle564 Thistle with bugs

It had been a brilliant half day. Lots of reward for not too much effort and some marvellous views.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Insects, Mallorca, Natural History, Photography, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

