Discover the Dean Clough Trail.

835 Dean Clough Reservoir

The title of this walk in my book is ‘The Dean Clough Discovery Trail’ but I think ‘Discover the Dean Clough Trail’ is more appropriate for me. The reason is because discovering the starting point of the walk was the hardest part of the day.

Although we had the Grid Reference for the starting point it proved difficult to locate. A couple of road junctions had no signposts and I took a wrong turn. A sign warning – Danger – Severe bends, followed by – ‘No long vehicles, no HGV, no trailers, should have warned me but I drove on. 20 minutes later we were back on the outskirts of Whalley. I had driven in a big circle. How had I managed that? In the end we had to use our GPS to find out where we were and navigate to the starting point of our walk.

So what about the walk? It was excellent and much more varied that I had anticipated.

From the car we climbed a small ridge and got our first view of the reservoir. In 1869 the stream at Dean Brook was dammed to create a reservoir to supply water to the mill town of Great Harwood. It was actually dammed twice and what looks like one reservoir is actually two. They provide an important habitat for birds. The name Great Harwood means ‘where the hares are found’ and was once a booming mill town.

833 Dean Clough Reservoir

We walked alongside the reservoir before joining a moorland path.

838

The path rose up to pass through an area of gorse, the yellow giving a splash of colour to the hillside.

840 Through the gorse

The views were beginning to open up and we could see Pendle Hill where we had walked last month.

841

The walk was very varied with lots of ups and downs. At one point we came close to the River Calder and a grassy bank provided an ideal picnic spot.

851

It was a beautiful late Spring day and there were lots of wild flowers. The bluebells were in full bloom and these were the genuine English variety, not the Spanish imposters.

845 Bluebells

The were also plenty of Lesser Celandine, Ranunculus Ficaria with their beautiful yellow flowers.

848 Lesser Celandine

Only 8 miles but a great day out.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Lancashire, Local History, Natural History, Photography, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

