Bright and Breezy on Pendle Hill.

625 Trig point

Yesterday I was out with Crosby Rambling Club and our destination was Barley. The journey there was interesting. The coach driver was relying on his Satnav and it took up up a rather narrow road. He made it but at one point there was only inches of clearance between the hedge and a parked car. Much better to study a road map!

As I had been on the reccee for the ‘A’ party walk I decided to take it easy and do the ‘B’ walk led by Val. We were still going to climb Pendle Hill so it was not that easy.

We set off from the village and walked up the access road towards Lower Ogden Reservoir. It was a glorious day and there had been an overnight dusting of snow on the hills.

584 Lower Ogden Reservoir

At the end of the reservoir we made a slight diversion too see one of the Tercet stones with its engraved poem about the ‘Witches of Pendle’.

586 Tercet Stone

For more information about the stone and poem see my previous blog ‘ In the footsteps of Witches’.

We continued along the access track towards Upper Ogden Reservoir. Here I paused to take pictures of the overflow and then watch a dog enjoying a swim.

587 Toweards Upper Ogden Reservoir

588 Overflow

590 Enjoying a swim

The hard work was now about to begin as we started on the long but steady climb up Ogden Clough. Looking back there was a good view of the reservoir and the snow covered hillside.

594 Looking back

The path was very muddy and we were in single file as we tried to find the best route.

595 Single File

The gradient eased as we reached the plateau and Val led the way.

604 Leading the way

Eventually we reached a wall and rather than follow the main path to the summit and trig point, we turned left to follow the wall to the edge of the escarpment. We were rewarded with superb views across to the Forest of Bowland.

611

After climbing the ladder stile we walked along the edge of the escarpment encountering some very wet conditions.

614 On the plateau

616 Wet conditions

On meeting the main path we doubled back to visit the trig point on Beacon or Big End.

625 Trig point

Time for a ‘Groupenfoto.

624 Groupenfoto

We had plenty of time to stop and enjoy the views across to the Yorkshire Peaks.

622 Enjoying the view

Our descent was along the ‘tourist route’ which is a series of rocky steps. Hard going on the knees.

627 Start of the descent

628 On the way down

We met lots of people coming up this way. Many of them seemed ill equipped for the task. Some were wearing trainers and T shirts. They would be in for a surprise if the reached the top and encountered the strong wind and the mud.

The final stretch was across farmland and then alongside the river. The walk had only been 8 miles but it felt like more.

629 Lambs

We certainly enjoyed our pint of ‘Wainwrights’ in the pub at the end.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club, Photography, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bright and Breezy on Pendle Hill.

  1. M.Barrett says:

    I was up there myself last Thursday, and it was extremely cold and windy on top! One of my favourite hills as I’m originally from that area (Colne). I only went up and down the main tourist path as I had my two kids with me. Unfortunately, I’ve yet to write up the walk for my blog so you got in there before me! 🙂

    • crosbyman66 says:

      Hi Mark.
      Thanks for visiting my blog and for your comment. It was a beautiful walk as you know and the conditions were marvellous.
      Next week I am off to Baslow to walk the edges, hope the weather holds.

Leave a Reply

