A different perspective

Yesterday afternoon was fine and dry which made quite a change. I took the opportunity to go for a short local walk along the coast. Starting from the coastguard station I headed north walking through the dunes. As usual, I had my camera with me. Today it was my little Lumix, SONY is still recovering from last weekend.

I decided to take my images from a low viewpoint with my camera almost touching the ground. Call it a “worms eye” view. OK, I got the knees of my trousers a bit muddy but it was worth it.

In late February there is still almost nothing in flower. There were just a few splashes of colour from some dandelion and gorse.

03 A splash of colour

The new fence alongside the golf course was an eyesore and a bit of a distraction but it is fulfilling its role and keeping the golfers in, stopping them from straying into the dunes.

I headed down onto the shore and began to take pictures.

04 .Just like a lawn

A rock covered in seaweed looked like a lovely lawn.

The ripples in the sand looked like valleys containing rivers and some seaweed covered rocks seemed as big as mountains.

10 Ripples in the sand

11 Mountains

Even my footprints looked huge outlined by the low sun.

16 Footprints

I walked as far as the mouth of the River Alt where I had to be careful to stay close to the land as there are patches of quicksand nearby. I did find some bits of old rope which gave me a reasonable image.

19 Old Rope

The light was beginning to fade and it was getting a bit chilly so I made my way back. Looking out to sea I could make out the wind turbines. All of them totally still and generating not one kilowatt of electricity.

21 Evening light

Back at the coastguard station I was in “Another Place”. I wandered down onto the beach to get closer to the Iron Men. One of them was providing an ideal perch for a seagull.

22 Iron Men

23 Iron Men

24 Another Place

Back at the car I sat for a while hoping that there may be a decent sunset but the cloud had built up. Time for one last shot and then home for tea.

27 End of the day

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Another Place, Hightown Dunes and Meadows, Photography, Sefton Coastline, The Iron Men. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A different perspective

  1. Marie Moran says:

    So nice to be able to enjoy the beauty around us.

Leave a Reply

