The Ming Tombs

The thirteen Ming Tombs are scattered over an area of forty square kilometres in Changping District to the northwest of Beijing. On our short tour we were only to see a small fraction of this.

48 Entrance to the Ming Tombs

The Ming Tombs were constructed during the Ming Dynasty, the first tomb being built in 1409 and the last in 1644.

185_8551 The Ming Tombs

57 Emperor

Leading to the tombs there is the Sacred Way or Spirit Path. it is 7 km in length and lined with stone animals and figures. The procession starts with four lions, four Xiezhai (mythical beasts with a single horn), four elephants, four Qilin and four horses.

8586

8483

8081

7879

In each group one pair is standing and the other is kneeling  .Each statue is carved from a single piece of white marble.

777674737270 Statue on the Sacred Way

The human figures are four military officials,four civil servants and four meritorious officials.

At the end of the Sacred Way lies the Stele Pavilion. Inside is a 50 ton stone statue of Bixi

Outside are four huge pillars each topped with a mythical beast.

It was mid afternoon when I was there are the sun was still trying to poke through the haze.

9193

Another fascinating day. So much culture.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in China, Photography, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

