Xian

After a brilliant day looking at the Terra-cotta army we spent the evening seeing a different type of culture.

We visited the Tang Palace Theatre and restaurant to dine and see the Tang Dynasty Show. The show featured an ancient Chinese instrumental ensemble and cultural dancing.

It was very colourful and I could not resist trying to take some pictures. I was quite far back and only had my little Sony compact camera with me. Flash was not allowed but I got a few shots.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Next morning it was another early start as we were off for more sightseeing.

The Small Wild Goose Pagoda.

The Small Wild Goose Pagoda is a Buddhist temple that survives from the Tang Dynasty (618 – 917) Although not as large as the Big Wild Goose Pagoda it is in a more tranquil setting. The pagoda was built of blue bricks and originally had 15 storeys. Due to storms and earthquakes over the years the top two storeys have been destroyed. The existing 13 storey pagoda measures 142 feet in height.

In the distance I could heat the sound of a bell. It was the Morning Bell Chime. The original  bell was built in 1192 in the third year of the reign of Emperor Zhangzong in the Jin Dynasty. It was installed in the Jianfu Temple and tolled every morning to pray for happiness. The bell now hangs near the pagoda and the one in the picture is a copy that hangs in a steel frame and can be rung by tourists.

We wandered round the park and I stopped to listen to a couple of musicians practicing their instruments.

All to soon it was time to leave Xian and board another plane for our short flight to Beijing.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in China, Photography, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

