Close Up

My local camera club has introduced a set subject for our next monthly competition. It is CLOSE UP.

I’m not sure if they just mean macro photography or getting in close to the subject.

Here are my entries. At least I will give the judge something to talk about.

Peacock Butterfly

The Peacock Butterfly

 

Bee Orchid.

Bee Orchid , 514

A bit of macro work. It is supposed to look like a bee to attract other bees to pollinate the flower, but I think its like a jolly fellow having a laugh.

Blue Damselfly.

Blue Damsellfly

 

Caterpillar of the  White Satin Moth.

Caterpillar of White Satin Moth

…………………………………………………………………………….

Grass of Parnassus with aphid

Grass of Parnssus

A bit of monochrome work.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

 

I did not just want to submit Natural History or Macro work, so I included Bulls Eye, I think I got it ‘Dead Centre’

On target. Bulls Eye

 

For my final entry I tried to be a bit more creative with – Magnification.

Magnification

I wonder what the judge will think?

For the technical people out there. All the images except for the Peacock Butterfly, were taken on my little Panasonic Lumix DCM TZ36. Much easier to carry around than a heavy SLR.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Butterflies, Macro, Moths, Photography, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Close Up

  1. Marie says:

    Oh Alan, they are magnificent! You have really done it now! I will save all these images.Good luck with the competition. Looking forward to hearing the outcome.

    • crosbyman66 says:

      Results.
      I did reasonably well in the monochrome but my colour prints were not up to standard.
      However,I won the projected images competition with my photo of the White Satin Moth expanding its wings.
      It was worth getting up early to obtain the photo.
      I had to get down on my stomach to get the shot and whilst I was lying there a man came by walking his dog. I was wary of the dog so I got up.
      He said “Thank goodness you moved. I thought I had found a body!”

  2. Tracey says:

    love the eyelashes and the texture of the fur/hide/hair (what DO you call it?)

Leave a Reply

