Salersbachkopfl and the High Table.

Schmittenhohe High Altitude promenade

It was the last day of our holiday in Austria and we decided on an easy stroll along the Seepromenade.

02

The cloud had lifted and it promised to be a glorious day.

0304

We had got to start packing our suitcases in preparation for an early departure tomorrow morning, but my eyes were drawn to the mountains. had I got time for another high level walk? There were still a couple of ‘Art works’ that I had not found

I decided to go for it and in the afternoon I rode in the gondola on the Sonneralmbahn and the the chairlift on the Sonnkogelbahn up to the Sonnkogel at 1856 metres.

0506

Conditions at the top were perfect.  Blue sky and hardly any wind.

07

I wanted to walk along the ridge but today I followed route 67 which would take me to the summit of Salersbachkopfl. It is on the western side of the ridge but from the summit there are marvellous views.

08. Salersbachkopfl

It was a steady climb but well worth the effort. From the summit I could enjoy the panorama of over thirty snow capped peaks above the 3000 metres mark.

09 View from the top

I spread out my map and orientated it to try and identify some of the peaks. I could pick out the Kitzsteinhorn and possibly the Grossglockner but it was difficult as there was little sense of scale. I just had to sit back and enjoy it.

12 Distant mountains

13 High peaks -

Leaving the summit I came to Schneefalle.

10. Schneefalle

The work of Herbert Golser, this sculpture is partially defined and designed by the overall space surrounding it. It is through this relationship that it becomes an integral part of reality, proffering itself as a kind of challenge. When movement occurs within this space, it reacts, changes its form. Yet it can also reflect what people feel as tranquillity and peace. Thus the sculpture bears witness to the on-going conditions around it.

11

14

Moving on down the path I came to the final exhibit. Gruss Gott, Nehmt oder Kommunikation 2000. Or as I call it, big table and chairs.

17 The high table

It is the work of Michael Printschler.

Take a seat amongst friends

Take a seat and enjoy nature, a good meal

Take a seat and read, for example, of God’s grandeur

I’ll take a seat and make a wish

that future conflicts might all be solved around a table.

16. High table

It was now time to head back. I passed more of the stretched wire avalanche protection devices and spotted a single bloom of a purple flower.

18

I had not seen this species before but have since learned that it is the Purple Gentian, Gentiana purpurea.

19

Back at the Sonnkogel Bergrestaurant is was time for a beer and a final look at the snow capped mountains. I had earned it.

20 I've earned this

I rode down on the chairlift. There was hardly any feeling of movement and the only sound was the rustling of the wind in my ears. I shut my eyes, it was so peaceful.

22 peace

It had been another great day out.

Tomorrow it is back to reality.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Landscape, Photography, Travel, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salersbachkopfl and the High Table.

  1. Marie says:

    I really enjoyed reading about your Austrian adventure along with the great photography. I will spend the rest of the day singing “The hills are alive with the sound of music”

Leave a Reply

