Zell am See Seepromenade, a day to forget.

I was going to call this post – The worst trout pout ever. I will come to that later.

The day had started off misty so we decided to walk round the lake. The complete circuit is 11 km but we had done part of it. So we headed south through Elisabeth Park and along the Seepromenade towards Schuttdorf.

01 Elisabeh Park

The mist was starting to lift and there were beautiful views looking across the lake.

03 Across the lake

05 Brightenning up

We skirted round the village of Schuttdorf and entered the nature reserve. Our path led through the reed beds but we could look south towards Kaprun and to the mountains beyond.

06 Reed beds

The area was a haven for birds and insects and there were lots of information boards giving details of the various species. You could even stop for a refreshing drink.

I was really enjoying myself taking photos when I was bitten on the lip by a horsefly.

It immediately began to swell up and feel numb. We carried on walking and I asked Jean “Is my lip swelling up” She replied “ Yes, just a bit . Stop messing with it” After about half an hours walking we came to a campsite and I went to the washroom to look in a mirror. I could not believe it, the whole of my upper lip was swollen and numb.

We carried on along the road and called in at the first available hotel. I went to the bar and asked for a cold beer and some ice. The waitress looked at my face and said “You need hospital” No, not really, I just needed some ice.

The staff were fantastic. They bought me some ice cubes in a polythene bag and a towel. The beer was the problem. I could not find my mouth and spilt most of it down my chin.

Jean had to take a photo. It looked like the worst trout pout – ever.

We had another half hours walking to get to the landing stage at Thumersbach and just as we approached we saw the ferry depart. We had to wait another hour.

We eventually got back to the hotel where my antihistamine cream was sitting on the bedside table. I asked for some more ice and spent the rest of the afternoon lying on the bed with an ice pack over my face.

10 Horsefly11 Horsefly

It took 36 hours for the swelling to go down and for my youthful good looks to return ( the last bit is a joke).

It was a day to forget.

PS A tube of Antihistamine cream is now a permanent fixture in my rucksack.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Salzburger Land, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Zell am See Seepromenade, a day to forget.

  1. Marie says:

    Sorry about your day. You needed a straw for the beer.

  2. Anne marie says:

    Enjoyed reading about your walk the views are amazing

  3. Tracey says:

    Liked your write up – made me laugh

Leave a Reply

