A study in Purple and Pink

Orchid

 

Yesterday I was back at Ainsdale Local nature Reserve.         

The irruption of White Satin Moths that I witnessed last  week  was all over and all that remained were a few dead bodies and empty pupa cases. 

However there was plenty to see as the Orchids were  coming into bloom. All in delicate shades of purple and pink

 

Here are a few of my images.

Orchids 1

Orchids 2

orchids 3

As I approached Freshfield the habitat changed as I entered the pinewoods. The sand gave way to bracken and there were plenty of foxgloves.

Foxgloves

Everything was beautiful but my find of the day was a couple of spikes of Bee Orchid, Ophrys apifera.

Bee Orchid

The flowers always make me smile. They are supposed to resemble a bee but I think it is a large, jolly bee lying back and having a laugh.

30w

What do you think ?

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Ainsdale Local Nature Reserve, Macro, Natural History, Photography, Sefton Coastline, Wild Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A study in Purple and Pink

  1. Marie says:

    I think you’re right!

  2. You would not believe that all of this is on our doorstep.

  3. Anne marie says:

    Loved the pictures of the orchids. I agree it looks just like a bee having a good night out with his bee friends on the Amber nectar 😄

Leave a Reply

