Spring Migration

06 View from the lighthouse

It’s the beginning of May and the swallows are migrating north to the UK so it is time for me to fly south to do some walking in the Sierra Tramuntana in Mallorca.

It is only a two hour flight and it passed quickly. The two hours spent hanging around at Liverpool airport seemed much longer. By 11.00 am I was approaching Port de Soller and the first thing I noticed was what was not there. The derelict Rocamar Hotel had finally been pulled down and the area landscaped. It had become quite an eyesore. By 2.00 pm we had settled into our room and it was decision time. I had been up since 2.00 am and I knew that if I lay down I would go to sleep. The best thing to do was to put on my boots and go for a walk.

I decided on one of my favourite local walks – The Lighthouse Trail. From the rear of where the Rocamar Hotel once stood I picked up the GR 221 route. This long distance trail crosses the island. I followed the path towards Deia up onto the Muleta. As I gained height I could look down over the port and the mountains beyond. 

01 Port de Soller

It has been a very hot and dry Spring here in Mallorca and a lot of the wild flowers were past their best. Nearly all the examples of Wild Gladioli that I saw were shrivelled up. There was a hot, dry aroma in the air. Was it a mixture of dried grass and herbs or was it goat?

The leaves of the Euphorbia bushes were changing to a beautiful reddish-brown colour and gave a nice foreground to some of my images.

04 Sierra Tramuntana

In the background lie the Sierra Tramuntana. Just left of centre is L’Ofre ( the pointy one) and to its right is Es Cornadors. Two of my favourite mountains both of which I hope to climb during the week.

03 GR221

I left the main track to head for the lighthouse and the Refugi de Muleta. The refuge is one of several situated along the GR 221 and it is possible to stay here in a dormitory for as little as 11 euro per night. I would love to complete the whole of the route, better known as the ‘Ruta de Pedra en Sec’ the ‘Dry Stone Way’ staying at these hostels. Maybe next year.

From the refuge I followed the road back down to the port enjoying the views.

07 Port de Soller

It was now 4.30 pm and I was hot. Time for my first Cervesa Grande.

This evening we ate at Las Palmeras where you are guaranteed a warm welcome.

Gespacho, followed by Grilled Swordfish accompanied by a bottle of white Rioja. I am relaxed.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Migration

  1. Malcolm says:

    Have a good trip, Alan….feeling rather envious.

Leave a Reply

