Wansfell Pike and Baystones.

001 Panorama from Wansfell Pike

It was pouring with rain as we set off to travel up the M6 to the Lake District. But the band of rain was moving south and we were heading north. By the time we reached Ambleside the rain had stopped but it was still overcast.

Boots on, we left Ambleside to follow the signs ‘ to the waterfalls’ and walked alongside Stockghyll, the waterfalls were quite impressive after the rain of the past few days.

03 Stockghyll

We emerged onto a lane via a revolving gate and headed up the lane for a few hundred yards before climbing a stile on out right to follow signs for Wansfell Pike and Troutbeck.

04 Towards Wansfell Pike

We now had a steep climb to the summit of Wansfell Pike at 1588 ft (484m) The path seemed to get steeper as we got nearer to the top but we were rewarded with fine views looking back over Ambleside.

05 Gaining height

 

07 Looking back over Ambleside

We could see the whole route of the classic Fairfield Horseshoe with just a few patches of snow on the tops

06 It's gertting tougher

The way was getting tough and I was at the back of the group. My excuse was that I kept stopping to take photos, but the reality was that I was knackered!

The views from the top were worth all the effort. The cloud was lifting and to the west we could make out the Langdale Pikes and Crinkle Crags.

10 Summit of Wansfell Pike

We now headed NE along the ridge towards Baystones, also known as Wansfell, 1601ft (488m). Although it is 15 ft higher than Wansfell Pike Wainwright did not class it as one of ‘his fells’ merely as a lump along the ridge. I had not done this section before and I found it interesting if rather boggy.

11 Along the ridge

12 Boggy bits

13 Is there a path

The summit of Baystones is crowned with a small cairn and we paused here to take photos.

15 Summit of Baystones

It was very windy and cold. I was forced to put on my ‘Deputy Dog’ hat that made me look ridiculous but at least my ears were warm.

14 Cold weather gear

We now headed SE to descend along a grassy path to reach the walled Nanny Lane which we followed down to Troutbeck.

17 Nanny Lane

Just before reaching the village we paused by a farm to watch the farmer working his sheepdogs to herd his flock into pens.

18 Sorting the flock

20 All accounted for

We reached the road and stopped for a drink. The farmer came out and asked us to stand back as he was about to move his sheep. Next minute the sheep appeared and raced off down the road accompanied by the sheepdogs and with the farmer in hot pursuit on his quad bike. The sheep had quite a turn of speed but I managed to get a photo that I called ‘Wool on the run’

22 Wool on the run

We followed down the road as far as the Post Office where we turned right along Robin Lane.

23 Snowdrops

At a kissing gate we forked left towards Skelghyll and Jenkin Crag.To our left lay Lake Windermere but to get the best view we had to make a short detour to Jenkin Crag

25 View from Jenkin Crag

From the crag we descended through the woods to reach a minor road which led us back to Ambleside and the tea shops.

8 miles and 2200 feet of ascent. A good stretch of the legs.

As we headed back towards the motorway we had clear blue skies and the low, sun was lighting up the Howgills ahead of us. Ideas for another walk. Possibly.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Gym Walks, Lake District, Landscape, Photography, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wansfell Pike and Baystones.

  1. Very nice ! It looks like a lovely hike. I’m taking notes, and I hope to be able to do it by myself ! did you have a map with you ?

    • crosbyman66 says:

      I never set out without my map, you never know when the mist might descend. I use the OS 1 :25000 and sometimes take along a GPS as backup. Some of the paths in the Lake District are not very clear but it is a beautiful place. I’m sure you will enjoy it.
      I’m off to the Peak District at the weekend to visit Bakewell and maybe sample the famous Bakewell Tart.
      Watch out for my blog next week.

      • I’m so lucky that you are going there before me, so I can write down some indications 🙂 I hope you will have good weather 🙂 And if you taste the tart, please, share the address :p Can’t wait to read your next entry !

  2. Tracey says:

    Another good day – love the photo of the sheep

  3. p, says:

    Excellent summary with good company from a good day out. Ng
    ,truly excellent alan

Leave a Reply

