CRC Ingleton

Yesterday I was at Ingleton with Crosby Rambling Club and I did the ‘C’ party walk. Not because I wanted an easy day but because

a) The weather forecast was horrendous with heavy rain due in the afternoon falling as snow on higher ground.

b) The ‘A ‘party were climbing Ingleborough and would definitely be in the snow whilst the B walk contained a lot of road walking. What really clinched it for me was the fact that the C walk was the most photogenic visiting part of the Ingleton Waterfall Trail.

Leaving the village we crossed the River Doe and Twiss and then followed the footpath across fields towards Thornton Hall.

01 Starting out

On reaching a lane we followed it for half a mile before turning right at a sheepfold to cross more fields to a disused quarry where we descended to join the Waterfalls Trail.

02 Snowdrops

We were near a refreshment hut and the smell of hotdogs and burgers was almost irresistible but we passed by and descended a short way to Hollybush Spout. Here the river falls about 30 feet through a deep rocky cleft

04 Pecca Falls

Climbing back up past the refreshment hut we continued along the edge of a bowl shaped valley and soon we could hear and see Thornton Force.

07 Moving on

08 Approaching Thornton Force

Thornton Force is the largest single drop waterfall on the walk and The River Twiss falls about 50 ft over limestone rocks into a pool below.

12 Thornton Force

It had now started to rain which quickly turned to sleet. We sought shelter amongst the rocks and it made for a perfect picnic spot. This is a very popular walk and soon our peace was disturbed when a large group of teenagers arrived. Most of then climbed onto the large rock and posed for ‘selfies’ which now seems to be almost compulsory.

13 Thornton Force

By scrambling along a rocky ledge you can actually get behind the waterfall and peer through the curtain of water. Several of them did it, rather them than me, but I would probably done the same when I was in my teens.

15 Thornton Force

The white spots on the image are snow!

The path now climbs up some steep stone steps with views ahead of Keld Head Scars which now had a dusting of snow. A metal bridge took us across the River Twiss and then there were more steps leading to the highest point of the walk.

17 Steep going

18 Striding out

We now had a short section along a country lane and across fields towards Twistleton Hall and on to Beezley Farm and the second half of our walk. Passing through a gate we joined the River Doe and shortly afterwards came to Beezley Falls surrounded by woodland.

20 Beezley Falls

We followed the man made path alongside the River Doe.

22 Alongside the River Doe

The next set of falls were the Triple Spout where the water runs between three openings. After the recent rain the water levels were high and two of the flows had merged creating just a double spout.

29 Triple Spout

I had been hoping to play around with different combinations of shutter speed and aperture to create different effects but the light level was so low that I was lucky to get any images at all.

The next falls were Baxenghyll Gorge where the river has carved a deep narrow gorge into the rock

31 Baxenghyll Gorge

Soon we were back in Ingleton and ready for some refreshment. I stayed with the C party and went for tea and cake instead of a pint of beer. My reward for the day was a huge piece of hot sticky toffee pudding with cream.

35 My reward

I’m sure it contained more calories than I had burned off on the walk!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

I had made the right choice of walk. The B party had walked in several inches of snow and the A party had been forced to turn back just short of the summit of Ingleborough. Blizzard conditions and an almost ‘whiteout’ had made it the sensible option.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby Rambling Club, Landscape, Photography, Walks, Yorkshire. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to CRC Ingleton

  1. Marie says:

    Talk about mad dogs and Englishmen!! Loved the photo of the White flowers, so delicate yet able to survive such harsh conditions.

  2. crosbyman66 says:

    It was a bit on the chilly side but the sticky toffee pudding made it all worth while

  3. roger says:

    nice photographs alan .i wonder if any of the ‘a’ party took any did you have to pay an entrance fee ?

    • crosbyman66 says:

      I don’t think anyone on the ‘A’ party risked getting their camera out.
      We did not have to pay the entrance fee to the falls. There was no one at the kiosk. I don’t think they expected any mad fools to be out in the conditions.

  4. That certainly looks like you did the better walk. What a lovely setting; all of those waterfalls.

Leave a Reply

