She’ll be coming round the mountain

Tuesday 6th January 2015.

I’m off to Wales with Les and Chris to do the reccee for the next Crosby Rambling Club walk. Our destination is Conwy where we hope to do a 10 mile walk.

Last night I had been looking at my maps and thinking of the way up Conwy Mountain. As I lay in bed a tune came into my head.

She’ll be coming round the mountain when she comes (when she comes)

She’ll be coming round the mountain when she comes (when she comes)

She’ll be coming round the mountain, coming round the mountain.

She’ll be coming round the mountain when she comes.

Singing Aye Aye yippee yippee eye.  etc..

It would not go away, I think they call it an ear worm. It stayed with me nearly all night and accompanied me round the mountain the next morning. I now know all six verses but I did not see anyone wearing pink pyjamas, perhaps it was too cold!

It’s an old Children’s song. popular in the late 40’s and 50’s. Anyone remember it?

So what about the walk.

001 View from Conwy Mountain

We parked close to Conwy Castle and walked round to the quayside. The castle was built for Edward I between 1277 – 1307 and it is one of the finest medieval fortifications in Britain. Unfortunately I could not get a good photo. Half of it was covered in scaffolding. Perhaps it is not finished yet!

01B Conwy Castle

As we walked along the quay we passed ‘the smallest house in Britain’ It has a floor area of 10ft by 5.9ft and a height of 10ft 2 inches, including the bedroom on the first floor. The house was lived in until 1900 but now it is a tourist attraction. The owner was Robert Jones, a 6ft 3 inch fisherman. He could not stand up inside.

The wheelie bin now standing outside is nearly as big as the house.

02 Smallest House

Our walk started properly on the outskirts of Conwy when we followed the signs for the North Wales Path and began our climb up Conwy Mountain (Mynydd y Dref) As we gained height we could appreciate the views looking down on the estuary and along the coast. We branched off to our right onto Penmaen-bach from where the view was even better.

05 Waypost03 On Conwy Mountain

06 Penmaen - bach

 

Our next objective was Alltwen which involved some rough walking on a very narrow track through heather, but we did see some wild ponies. We then had to lose all our height as we descended to the Sychnant Pass and followed this down to Capelulo. We passed the lovely ‘Fairy Glen’ pub which looked inviting but we did not have time to stop for a pint. Turning left we followed the lane for a short distance before taking a path on the left to cross a bridge and begin the hardest climb of the day up to Maen Esgob.

08 Before the climb09 Hard going

The remainder of the walk was a mixture of field paths and quiet country lanes.but at least we completed it in daylight unlike three years ago when a navigation error meant we did the last two miles in darkness.

10 End of the day

The weather had been quite good, windy but it remained dry. Let’s hope it is the same next weekend.

I now realise why I felt so tired after this walk. It involved 3800 feet of ascent.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Adventures with Les, Photography, Wales, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to She’ll be coming round the mountain

  1. walktx says:

    I sang the song as a child and later taught it to my own children. However, we didn’t have the
    Singing Aye Aye yippee yippee eye. etc.. as a chorus in our version. We just sang one verse after the other. Wikipedia has three additional verses we didn’t sing and in our version she was wearing “red” pajamas not “pink”.

    From Wikipedia:
    She’ll be driving six white horses when she comes, etc.
    She’ll be wearing pink pajamas when she comes, etc.
    Oh we’ll all come out to meet her when she comes, etc.
    We will kill the old red rooster when she comes, etc.
    We will all have chicken and dumplings when she comes, etc.
    She’ll be carrying three white puppies when she comes etc.
    We’ll all be shoutin’ “Halleluja” when she comes, etc.
    She’ll be comin’ down a road that’s five miles long, etc.

    Thanks for posting, I enjoy your blogs.

    • crosbyman66 says:

      Many thanks for your comments, I’m pleased that you enjoy my blog.
      The song seems to bring back childhood memories in all of us.

      I’ll be back in Conwy on Sunday with my Rambling Club and the weather forecast is appalling!
      I think I will need my waterproofs.

      Your aim to walk in all of the counties in Texas is similar to my aim of climbing all the ‘Wainwrights’ in the Lake District.
      But , they seem to be getting harder!

      Best wishes.
      Alan

Leave a Reply

