A stroll and a pint.

Friday 3.00 pm

My case is almost packed and its only 3.00 pm, I might manage a quick walk and maybe a pint. Back home if I had said “I’m just popping out for a pint” I might have got disapproving looks, but rephrasing it as “I think I’ll have a stroll to the Rodlhutte” seemed much better.

22

The Rodlhutte is situated on the slopes of the Zwolferkopf and offers meals and accommodation. it is very popular in the winter where it marks the start of a toboggan run which is illuminated and open till 23.00 each day.

21 Pertisau

I walked through the village to pick up the route on the Rundwanderweg that I had used last week. After about 400m I saw the sign pointing to the left and indicating the way to the Rodlhutte. It said 25 minutes to the hut. That sounded like a challenge so I set off at a brisk pace but was quickly passed by a guy who was almost sprinting, his Nordic Poles almost a blur.

23 Sprinter

I got to the hut in 18 minutes but I had been forced to stop several times, to admire the scenery, or was it just to get my breath back?

24 Rodlehutte

Parked outside the Rodlhutte was the Hutten Express which ferries passengers to and from the hut every hour. I was just about to take a picture of it when a voice said “ Are you coming down with us. I am just leaving” It was the driver, it was Heinrich. I said that I was hot and thirsty and needed a pint but I may see him later.

25 Hutten Express

I sat outside and enjoyed an excellent pint of Zipfer Beer and the view looking down the lake.

26 A nice pint

I worked out a circular route that would bring me back into Pertisau and take me about an hour. It had started to rain so once again I had to put my waterproofs on. Along the way I came across an interesting statue. In God’s Hand.. I cannot find any information about it.

27 In God's Hand

It was now raining quite hard bit it wouldn’t be a walk without me taking at least one flower picture. In this case, the Willow Leaved Gentian.

28 Willow leaved Gentian

The route was mainly along forest trails but every now and then I could get a glimpse of the lake looking gloomy in the rain.

29 Lake Achensee

Purely by luck, or was it good planning my path brought me out right next to my favourite little bar in Pertisau where I could enjoy another pint. I was served by Heinrich who later came to join me for a chat.

It had been a pub crawl after all, but an excellent end to the holiday.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Photography, Travel, Tyrol, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

