Dalfazalm and a close encounter

It was the last full day of my holiday and I needed to make the most of it. I decided to do another high level walk on the Rofan. My aim was to walk to Dalfazalm, the beautiful almhouse set high in the mountains. The signpost indicated that it should take me about 45 minutes each way giving me ample time to complete the walk before lunch.

0201

I set off along the clear path and conditions were perfect, the valley was still full of cloud but I was above it. The first point of interest was the little shrine at Durrakreuz from where there were good views looking down on the valley and Lake Achensee.

03 Shrine

04. Looking down on Seespitz

I was making good progress and the path stretched out in front of me on the hillside.

05

The views got better and better but then ahead of me I saw a cow. Out of the corner of my eye I saw the rest of the herd coming down the path towards me. I stopped and they stopped. I moved on and so did they. We met on the narrow path. Two in front of me, I was third in line with the rest of the herd close behind. I had not realised how big they were until I felt them bumping into me. They all had their bells on and I was tempted to sing “Ding a ling” just to be part of the herd. It was actually quite tuneful and better than the noise at the Tyrolean evening last weekend.

07

06

Soon the Dalfazalm came into sight and the herd of cows veered off into a meadow. Had I got time for a quick pint? Well maybe just a half.

09 Dalfazalm09a Dalfazalm

I knew I had plenty of time to get back but that did not include time spent taking photos. I spotted some Gentian just off the path with a view of the lake in the background. Time for short stop.

Gentian sp

A few metres further on and I saw some Golden Hawksbeard.

16

However my best find was some bellflowers growing out of a crevice in the rock.

Bellflowers

20 minutes had passed and I knew I had to speed up. But why was I out of breath?. I then realised I was at over 1600 metres, I thought it was the beer!!!!

Almost back at the Rofan cable car station I noticed the small lake that I had seen a couple of days ago. I just had time for a detour. It meant a descent and then a climb back up but it was worth it. It was so peaceful. and still. Just me and the mountains reflected in the lake.

17

18

I rode down on the cable car in time to meet my connection with the local bus, it only ran once an hour. I was back at the hotel right on schedule. I had even got brownie points!!!!

This afternoon we had to pack our cases but I was sure I could find something better to do!!!!!!!!!!

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Photography, Tyrol, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

