Apple Strudel and a Painted Lady on the Zwolferkopf

Sept 4th. pm.

We had finished our lunch and the sun was still shinning so we walked through the village and caught the Karwendel Cable Car up the Zwolferkopf. We did not intend to walk far so we headed straight for the Karwendelalm where I fancied an apple strudel. We managed to get a seat on the edge of the balcony where we could enjoy the view looking down on Lake Achensee.

241 Karwendelalm

Previously we had always shared one portion of Apple Strudel but today as it was near the end of the holiday we decided to have a slice each. The waitress asked if we wanted “Vanilla sauce” Why not. When she served the Apple Strudel it was enormous and it was swimming in a lake of custard. Plus I had ordered a large mug of coffee.

248 Strudel with a view250 Apple Strudel

I did my best but only just managed to finish it. I was stuffed, so I sat back in the sunshine to relax. Next minute Jean nudged me. The waitress was there asking if we wanted to pay. Jean said I had been asleep, but that is just not true. I was only resting my eyes !!!

210 On the Zwolferkopf

It was time to move so we went on a slow wander around the Zwolferkopf. I was soon distracted. I flash of movement had caught my eye. It was a Painted Lady Butterfly, Vanessa cardui. It was also enjoying the sunshine and I was able to get in really close to take some close-ups of it feeding on some thistle.

287 Painted Lady

238 Painted Lady

There were also some Brimstone Butterflies, Gunepteryx rhamni, and I was soon crawling around in the undergrowth as usual.

250 Brimstone Butterfly

242 Brimstone Butterfly

We rode back down in the cable car and I decided I needed a drink. We went to the same bar that we used yesterday and I ordered a Zipfer Beer. We were served by “Heinrich” and he brought our drinks just as I was taking a photo of the cable car, getting himself in the frame. But it made the photo.

The Zipfer beer was wonderful.

278 Cold beer

That evening we enjoyed another marvellous five course meal at the Furtner’s Sporthotel. As a digestive I decided to try the local apple schnapps. It was potent, just like firewater and reminded me of the Slivovitz that I once drank in Slovenia. I think you are supposed to down it in one, no-way. I was not sure whether I liked it or not, so I had to try another. Yes it was good.

It had been a marvellous day. A good walk. lots of photos and a glass of schnapps.

I was a “Happy Schnapper”

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Butterflies, Photography, Travel, Tyrol. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

