Gaisalm to Pertisau

Thursday 4th September . am

138 Gaisalm

                                                   Gaisalm

At last it has stopped raining and my plan for today is to catch the boat to Gaisalm and walk back to Pertisau along the lakeside path. We caught the 10.15 boat from Pertisau and 15 minutes later we arrived at Gaisalm. Jean stayed on the boat to the the round trip of the lake and I prepared to walk back.

The first few hundred metres were through woodland and as usual I was soon taking pictures.

143144

I then came to a shale beach where people had been building intricate cairns. There reminded me of the ones scattered across the Sierra Tramuntana in Mallorca, where they are referred to as “the little men”

130 Little menLittle men

129 Cains on the beach

The path now began to narrow and became more undulating .

149

I was soon at another rocky beach with more “little men” There was never any problem in route-finding as there were plenty of markers.

162 More Little Men158 The shale beach

I was also passed by the one other person who I met doing the walk in my direction.

150

The path began to climb up from the lake and in places there was quite a drop immediately to my left. I had to watch where I was putting my feet so as to avoid tripping over tree roots or rocks. I had been warned not to do the walk in the wet but also told that there was a safety rope in the “difficult places”. I decided that if I met walkers coming the other way I would step off the path on the inside if possible and let them pass. This seemed to work well.

170168

In places the path was being washed away and had been reinforced with planks.

179

Looking back it didn’t seem as bad.

181

I same to a set of wooded steps and then my fist “safety rope” an iron cable bolted into the rock.

189

I then came to the most exposed section of the walk and here I met a large group of walkers including some children coming in the opposite direction. They all stopped and held on to the cable and motioned me forward. I had to pass on the outside trying not to think of the drop on my left. It certainly got my heart racing. I even had to put my camera away

Soon I was at a feature that I had spotted from the boat. A water spout was cascading down the rock face and a small shelter had been built allowing you to walk under it and keep dry.

194 The shelter

It did not work very well. I wanted to pause and take photos but apart from the fact that it was a bit exposed, I was getting wet, and so was my camera.

197 Getting wet

198

The final section of the walk was just an easy stroll alongside the lake.

211

I was nearly back and the sun was shinning.

213 Nearly back

I arrived back in Pertisau just in time to meet Jean as she got off the boat. We ate our lunch sitting on a bench by the lake and shared the crumbs with some inquisitive sparrows.

221 Sparrow220 Sparrow

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Birds, Natural History, Photography, Tyrol, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gaisalm to Pertisau

  1. Beautiful pictures and stone statues but I don’t think I’d have liked the exposed nature of the walk.You can never tell until you’re actually there but it looks pretty scary! Well done .

  2. Marie says:

    This walk sounded great! What is the meaning of the little men. I have seen them and thought it was just kids playing and building stone towers.

    • crosbyman66 says:

      Back home, large piles of stones are referred to a ‘cairns’ and are used to indicate the route. There is usually one on the summit of the mountain. In Mallorca the “little men” are everywhere along the paths and are sometimes no more than two or three stones balanced one on top of the other. I never regard these as showing the correct way. Merely indicating the face that someone has passed this way. As regards the ones on the beach in the Gaisalm walk, I agree with you. They were probably built by children playing with the stones.

  3. Marie says:

    Thanks for the explanation. Your last walk sounds wonderful, photos are beautiful. The strudel and coffee well deserved. The schnapps necessary to ease the aching muscles. I agree the beer is great, much better then our Aussie beer, that is too strong for my taste.

Leave a Reply

