Flowers, fungi and a Fritillary.

September 3rd pm.

It had been a marvellous morning with a high level walk in the mountains, but what do we do in the afternoon?

I studied my map and found a local walk, the Tristenau- Rundwanderweg.

This was a circular walk of about 5 km that roughly followed the perimeter of the Pertisau Golf Course. It was almost completely flat but full of interest.

02 Pertisau Golf Course

The walk was along the edge of the forest and a completely different type of habitat to the alpine flower meadows. Here we saw several different types of fungi.

010503

One group drew out attention. There were hundreds of balls about 5 cm in diameter, I think they must be some type of Puffball

06

A few yards further along the path I found some more Willow leaved Gentian. This time they were not only in sunlight but close to the edge of the path . I was able to get a decent picture.

08 Willow leaved Gentian

07 Willow leaved Gentian

The sunshine had also brought out the butterflies and I spotted a Fritillary, which I think is the Cardinal. Argynnis pandora.

12 Argynnis pandora

11 Cardinal Butterfly

Our walk had taken us almost two hours at a very leisurely pace and ended close to the Karwendel Cable Car Station. nearby was a bar which was part of the outdoor leisureware shop. We decided to stop off for a drink. Our drinks were served to us by a guy dressed in full Austrian costume, lederhosen, socks, the lot. I asked if I could take his photo. He said “Just a minute, I must get my hat” He dashed off to return a few moments later with his hat which sported a huge feather. I took a few photos and we had a good chat ,I called him Heinrich. We would meet again.

15 Heinrich

That night we went for a walk down to the village for a coffee at the Shale Museum. It was full of youngsters wearing large pointed hats. Were we on a “Harry Potter”film set or at a meeting of the Pertisau Hobgoblins Society. Weird.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Butterflies, Natural History, Photography, Travel, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flowers, fungi and a Fritillary.

  1. Marie says:

    Hope you didn’t eat any of those mushrooms on the way. I am a bit concerned about the hobgoblins you met up with. We loved Austria, but it was part of a tour we were on so didn’t have time to do any relaxed walks in the country side.

Leave a Reply

