A walk round the Zwolferkopf, Route 4

At last we had some sunshine and bright blue sky so we caught the 10.00 Karwendel Cable Car to the top of the Zwolferkopf at 1500m. At the top we paused to watch the Para gliders take advantage of the thermals to launch themselves into the air.

Para glyders

We then set off along route 4, the Rundwanderweg, a circular panoramic walk.

3771

It was a wide shale path and led us gently down to the Barnabad Almhouse. Along the way we saw a fox, rabbit and three brown bears, but they were only models. I’ve no idea why they were there.

The Fox, Rabbit and three Bears

3782 Barenbadalm

                                                               Barnabadalm

As always I was keeping my eyes open for wild flowers and I found some more species of Gentian.

Gentian sp

The path then descended to a crossroads where there was the option to carry on down to Pertisau following route 7 and the Rodelhutte.

3784 Route 4

 

                                                                     Route 4

There were more wild flowers, a beautiful white flower that I think is Grass of Parnassus.

Grass of Parnasus

We carried on along route 4 which began to ascend on a narrow path through the woods. There were lots of tree roots which were wet and slippery, we had to be careful. I did manage to look up to see some Willow leaved Gentian, Gentiana asclepiadea. It is highly protected and was once thought to be able to ward off spells and witches.

3799 Willow leaved Gentian

713 Willow leaved Gentian

Just when we felt we had done enough walking we came out of the trees and there ahead of us was the Almhouse at Alpengastrof (1480m) We went in for a coffee or a beer for me and to relax on the balcony and enjoy the view looking down on lake Achensee.

The walk had taken us two hours at a very leisurely pace. It was nice to be up high in such magnificent scenery.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Natural History, Photography, Travel, Tyrol, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A walk round the Zwolferkopf, Route 4

    • crosbyman66 says:

      Thanks for your comment. I use my old Canon 400D but my favourite when out walking is my little Panasonic Lumix. It fits in my pocket and I take it everywhere.
      I will keep checking out your blog.

      • Moritz says:

        I know that feeling. Taking my 60D with me is always tough because it is kind of heavy and not really easy to carry with. The Panasonic Lumix seems to be a very good substitute! Keep on the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

