A stroll to Seespitz

477 brighter weather

There was some blue sky this morning and we could actually see the tops of the mountains so we decided to go for a walk. It was really just a stroll alongside the lake towards Seespitz but we needed to check the timing for future connections with the train.

The footpath and cycle track were in good condition and made for easy walking. There were lots of wild flowers and I soon had my camera out.

Wild flowers

Just after we reached Seespitz I heard the sound of a hooter and saw a puff of steam. The train was coming in.

I dashed back to get some photos.

489 b

507 l

 

508 l

 

We continued round the bottom end of the lake where there were some reed beds. It was very peaceful except for the flies.

520 l 

516

We headed away from the lake towards some houses. We thought we were still in Seespitz but in fact we were on the outskirts of Maurach. Nevertheless we found somewhere for coffee.

By the time we got back to Seespitz the sky was overcast and the wind had got up. It was quite cool. Time to hop on the boat and head back to the hotel.

I had picked up timetables for the boat, train, bus and cable car and prepared a wish list for the rest of the holiday.

Time to explore!

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Natural History, Photography, Travel, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A stroll to Seespitz

  1. Marie says:

    Good photos, beautiful part of the world. Gives me itchy feet, want to go back and explore more of the countryside. Better get over the jet lag first.

Leave a Reply

