Quiet time on the Cami de Castello

After all the rock hopping of yesterday I needed an easy day. I chose to stroll along the Cami de Castello to enjoy the peace and quiet and to see what wild flowers I could find. The route is varied following cobbled donkey trails, dirt tracks and a country lane. I started from Can Prohom and walked down to Soller and onwards to the port.

The route is well signposted and there are several options to shorten the route such as the Cami de Rocafort and the Cami des Monts Real but today I continued along to Soller. The final mile was along a concrete track but this was more than compensated for by the views of the Soller valley and across to Mig Dia.

After yesterdays rain everywhere was fresh and there were lots of butterflies about but none came near enough to me to enable me to get a photo. I concentrated on looking for wild flowers.

There were lots of Periwinkle, Vinca Difformis and wild garlic

04.  Vinca difformis05. Garlic

I found the blue variety of the Scarlet Pimpernel, Anagallis arvensis.

03 Scarlet Pimpernel

The Greeks used this plant as a cure for melancholy whilst in the middle ages it was used to treat mental illness. The flowers open in the morning and close by 3.00pm  at the latest. The flowers also close when the sky is overcast or if rain is on the way so it can be used as a weatherglass.

Close by was some Oxalis Per-caprae, Bermuda buttercup.

08. Oxalis Pre-caprae

This is an invasive species and it contains a high concentration of Oxalic acid.

I also found some Spiny Golden Star, Pallenis spinosa, which I had never noticed before.

01 Pallenis spinosa02 Pallenis spinosa detail

The large yellow flowers are surrounded by sharply pointed bracts.

I was back by lunchtime with time to relax before my final walk tomorrow.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Natural History, Photography, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quiet time on the Cami de Castello

  1. Marie says:

    Good photos, looking forward to hearing about and seeing photos of your next walk. I have enjoyed following your walks on Mallorca and learning more on google about the island. Another jewel in the Mediterranean.

    • crosbyman66 says:

      Thanks Marie.
      Mallorca is a beautiful island. Most people associate it with beaches and clubs but there is a different world out there up in the Sierra de Tramuntana.

Leave a Reply

