The hidden valley

Today we were off to explore the hidden valley that is hemmed in on the one side by the steep ridge leading to Puig de ses Vinyes and on the other side my the massive bulk of Puig Major.

The walk is not in any of the guidebooks and there is no path shown on the map, but my friends assured me it was fine and I would see lots of wild flowers.

We parked close to the military base at point k 38 on the MA 710 and walked to the start of the military road leading up to Puig Major. We could not go there but just to the right there was a gate and a faint path. The path joined a wider track and it was easy walking and we could enjoy the view of the ridge comprising Penya des Migdia 989m, Puig de sa Plana 996m and Puig de ses Vinyes 1108m.

01 The hidden Valley

                                                           Puig de ses Vinyes

To our left was Puig Major and I am sure we were being spied upon from above.

02 Below Puig Major

                                                                  Below Puig Major

I even found some flowers, Rosy Garlic and some Silene sp.

03 Rosy Garlic04. Rosy Garlic

05. Silene sp06. Silene sp

There were also some Orchids and Wild Gladioli which were in better condition than the ones I saw near the coast.

07 Orchid sp08 Wild Gladioli

Things now started to get more difficult. The path had run out but Greg spotted a red arrow on a rock. This is the way he shouted with confidence, and of course we all followed.

10. This is the way

We came upon the fence bordering the military zone and were forced to follow it. It was now a case of scrambling over rocks and boulders. The alternative was to force a way though shoulder high carritx grass with no idea where we were putting our feet. “Stand up straight and trust your boots” shouted Greg. OK, but I was getting out of my comfort zone.

11 Where now

We continued for another half an hour occasionally finding a red dot or a Mallorca cairn. A Mallorcan cairn is often just two stones one placed upon the other. It does not necessarily mean there is a path, just that someone, sometime has been this way before.

12 Red dot

We were now at an altitude of 985m and the weather was closing in. It started to rain and it was decision time. Paul and Greg had intended to try and summit Puig de ses Vinyes but it would now be too dangerous. We decided to head back.

13 Weather closing in

The way down should have been easier but the rock was now wet and greasy.

When we got back to the car and switched on the ignition the dashboard display gave the outside temperature as 12 degrees. It was 24 degrees back home.

Back at the hotel we needed a hot coffee. The beer could wait.

An interesting day.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Photography, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The hidden valley

  1. Marie says:

    A great adventure, I would have needed a stiff scotch after arriving back safely.

Leave a Reply

