A star in the dunes.

It’s the beginning of May and once again I am wandering round the sand-dunes along Crosby beach to see what I can find.

Just a few yards from the coastguard station there is a group of Red Dead-Nettle, Lamium purpureum.

194 Red dead Nettle

The plant is not related to the true nettle family and as the name suggests, it does not have a sting.

The leaves are often tinged with purple or red when it grows in sunny places.

Red Dead Nettle

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Further along my walk I saw a speck of white amongst the vegetation. It was the flower of the Star of Bethlehem, Ornithogalum umbellatum.

P1010207

205 Star of Bethlehem

The petals were brilliant white on the inside but striped with green on the outside. The stems are quite weak and the flower head was supported by the surrounding vegetation so I was careful not to disturb it. The plant contains glycosides and a tincture made from the bulbs is used as an homeopathic remedy.The flowers only open in the sunshine and I only found two specimens. I remembered their location from last year, It is at Grid reference SD29xxxx, no I’m not going to tell as I think it is quite rare in the area.

Star of Bethlehem

I wonder what I will find on my next visit?

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Hightown Dunes and Meadows, Natural History, Photography, Sefton Coastline, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

