The wild flowers of the Serra de Tramuntana, Mallorca

The Serra de Tramuntana stretches along Mallorca’s coast from the southern end to the northern tip of the island. As well as being an excellent area for walking it is home to a wide variety of plants. There is a range of habitats from cliffs and rocky pastures through to woodland and meadows.

2013 was a good year for spotting wild flowers.The long damp winter meant that spring was late and when I walked there in May I saw several species that are not normally in flower at that time.

I am not a botanist but here are some of the flowers that I was able to photograph and identify. For the technically minded I use an old Canon 400D with an 18 – 55mm lens. However this is quite heavy to carry on a long walk so I tend to use my ancient but trusty Sony Cybershot. It is compact, lightweight and easily fits into my pocket so I always have it with me.

Balearic Cyclamen.  Cyclamen balearicum

The slender stems bear snowy white flowers with five upswept petals above blue/green arrowhead shaped leaves with silvery markings. As the name suggests it is endemic to the Balearic Islands but is also found in the south of France. It normally flowers in March – April but last year I found some in May at the foot of a dry stone wall on the Cami Vell.

06. Cyclamen balearicum

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

The Balearic Foxglove.  Digitalis dubia

This Spanish foxglove is a smaller version of the more common Digitalis purpurea. The delicate flowers are pinkish yellow and the stems and leaves are covered in long soft hairs. I found this specimen in a rocky crevice at the foot of the Cami Vell.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Rosy Garlic. Allium roseum.

Found on the lower slopes this small plant has rose pink petals. It has the characteristic smell of garlic.

It is cultivated as an ornamental plant. It is edible tasting of garlic and is grown as a vegetable in North Africa. It is also used as a medicinal plant due to its antimicrobial properties.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

The Grey-leaved Cistus. Cistus albidus.

This common shrub can be found from the coast to the mountains. The pink petals are crumpled and creased similar to a poppy.

Cistus albidus 1

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

The Scarlet Pimpernel. Anagallis arvensis.

This small member of the Primrose family is often found alongside paths and I spotted some on the climb up to Sa Rateta. The flowers open in the morning and close by 3pm and also when the shy is overcast and rain is due. For this reason it is sometimes regarded as a weatherglass. It was once thought to have medicinal properties and was used to treat mental conditions.

A blue variety can also be seen but is less common.

 

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Natural History, Photography, Travel, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The wild flowers of the Serra de Tramuntana, Mallorca

  1. marie moran says:

    Lovely photos, colourful small delicate flowers. very much like wild flowers we have seen in Western Australia. Marie

Leave a Reply

